This Week in the New York Times

A Post-Progressive Look at the Progressive Paper of Record

In this new live program, Jeff Salzman gives his unique post-progressive take on the news and opinion of the day. Tune in to find out how the emerging post-progressive perspective can help make sense of our hyper-polarized culture and politics, and more importantly, show us the way forward out of it! This Week in the New York Times will take place live on Facebook every Friday, at 11am MT (10am PT, 12pm CT, and 1pm ET). If you miss it live, you will be able to watch each episode on the Post-Progressive Facebook Group or here at the Post-Progressive Post.

Episode 15: November 19, 2021

“Morning Joe” Scarborough decries political tribalism as he stokes it * Steve Bannon, grifter or holy warrior?

Episode 14: November 12, 2021

Jeff takes a look at the coverage and reactions to a major new book, “The Dawn of Everything, A New History of Humanity” by archaeologist David Wengrow and the late anthropologist David Graeber

Episode 13: October 29, 2021

Looking at two new books that argue about progress: Our Country Friends, by Gary Shteyngart, and Rationality: What It Is, Why It Seems Scarce and Why It Matters, by Steven Pinker

Episode 12: October 22, 2021

A “hard but real compromise is possible” on abortion * The role of women devolves, and evolves, in the Muslim world

Episode 11: October 15, 2021

The global minimum tax * Facebook and Instagram on the block * Farhad Manjoo cautions against moral panic

Episode 10: October 1, 2021

The Infrastructure and Reconciliation bills, David Brooks on “Why We Need to Spend $4 Trillion”

Episode 9: September 24, 2021

John McWhorter says celebrate new gender pronouns * France’s submarine snub * Vaccines in Uganda

Episode 8: September 17, 2021

 A pro-life Christian column: “Texas’s Abortion Law Should Force America to Change Its Ways” 

Episode 7: September 10, 2021

Critiquing David Brooks’ “When Dictators Find God” * Why premodern sensibilities must be integrated, not converted or paved over

Episode 6: September 3, 2021

Ross Douthet rebuts Brett Stephens on Afghanistan (I believe both of them) * Harvard Divinity School chooses an atheist Head Chaplain

Episode 5: August 27, 2021

Afghanistan through the developmental lens * The march of the Karens and three definitions of racism

Episode 4: August 20, 2021

Brett Stephens denounces Biden on Afghanistan * How to think your way to God

Episode 3: August 13, 2021

The IPCC climate story: religious in a bad way and religious in a good way

Episode 2: August 6, 2021

Was I too green last week? * Mondo Duplantis pole vaults into integral territory * Heather Cox Richardson and Roxanne Gay on why is everybody so mad * Come In, a poem by Robert Frost

Episode 1: July 30, 2021

Simone Biles Olympic withdrawl * Seeing the unseen worker, and the unseen aspects of every worker